Current Affairs
New Council for the Malta Institute of Journalists

The Malta Institute of Journalists (IĠM) has a new Council, elected during today’s Annual General Meeting. The election was held in line with the Institute’s statute with Members voting to elect three officials and four members who will hold office for the next two years. Two TVM journalists, Nigel Mifsud and Mario Xuereb were elected to the Council.

Yannick Pace was elected Chairperson, Nigel Mifsud General Secretary and Mario Schiavone was confirmed as Treasurer. Elected as Council Members were Roderick Agius, Domenic Aquilina, Charles Camenzuli and Mario Xuereb. This means the new IĠM Council has two new officials and three new Council Members.

In a statement IĠM said during the meeting the Members present approved the Administrative Report and the Financial Report.

At the end of the meeting new IĠM Chairperson Yannick Pace thanked the Members for showing their trust in him and confirmed the Council is to operate with greater commitment to acquire the trust of Maltese journalists while also continuing to strengthen the profession.

The IĠM thanked Norma Saliba who for the last year has been Acting Chairperson.

Other News

The death has been announced of Chief Justice Emeritus Giuseppe Mifsud Bonnici, known “Gogo” at the age of 89. The former Chief Justice was born in Cospicua. He was appointed…

Current Affairs

The Leader of the Opposition and the Nationalist Party, Adrian Delia, has alleged that foreign workers are working in worse than precarious conditions. Speaking during a political activity in Sliema as…

Current Affairs

Government announced it nominated three candidates for the European Court of Human Rights, as Judge Vincent A. De Gaetano’s term will end by the end of next September. In a…

Current Affairs

The Malta International Airport announced a profit of €30.3 million for 2018. MIA increased its profits by more than €6 million over 2017. The company running the airport stated that…

View More