Malta added to UK’s quarantine list

Malta, France and the Netherlands are among the countries which have been added to UK’s quarantine list. This means that people who travel from these countries to the UK need to spend 14 days in quarantine on their arrival. This measure will come into affect at 4am on Saturday. Transport Minister Grant Shapps said that this measure is required to keep the number of Coronavirus infections low.

France has already warned that the UK’s decision will lead to reciprocal measures. The British Government defended this decision because it said that over the last few days in these countries – including Malta – there was a spike in the number of cases.

Half a million British tourists are in France right now, with these measures expected to lead to a large number of people gathering at the ports and airports to avoid having to go into quarantine when they arrive back in their country.