62.66% voted in favour of current classifications – Floriana FC are the new Champions

Floriana FC are the new Champions of football in Malta.

The decision was taken this evening by the Malta Football Association Council.

Votes on the decision were: 47 in favour of the present classifications, 18 against and 10 abstentions.

This is the 26th title that Floriana FC won during their football history.

The last time that the Evergreens won the Premier Championship was in the 1992/93 season, under the presidency of Anthony Grech Sant.

Today’s vote means that Żejtun Corinthians FC are the First Division champions, Marsa FC are champions of the Second Division and Attard FC are Third Division champions, together with all MFA’sfootball championships.

TVMSport is informed that before the vote was taken, there was a long discussion between Dione Borg, on behalf of Floriana FC and Paul Spiteri, representing Valletta FC during which both retorted their arguments for various minutes.

Other News
Foreign Affairs

The former star of Brazilian football, Ronaldinho, has been detained by Police authorities in Paraguay in connection with the alleged use of a false passport to enter the country. The…

Foreign Affairs

A somewhat embarrassing moment for Juventus players Cristiano Ronaldo and Paulo Dybala, who ended up giving an exhibition of love which was more fervent than they had intended. In a…

Current Affairs

26-year-old Antoine Camilleri has been fined 100 euro and ordered to keep away from a football ground for a one-year period, after being arraigned in the Gozo Court and charged…

Current Affairs

After Sannat player Antoine Camilleri was seen yesterday assaulting assistant referee Andrea Pavia, another Sannat player continued sending offensive and threatening messages up to yesterday evening in reference to the…

View More