People who have not been vaccinated who arrive in Malta need to quarantine

The legal notice published yesterday is asking tourists who have not been vaccinated against covid-19 to quarantine for 14 days when they arrive in Malta.

The legal notice also exempts those people who have not been vaccinated due to medical reasons and those aged between 5 – 11, as long as they are in possession of a negative PCR test taken not more than 72 hours before their arrival in Malta.

These are the countries which do not require quarantine if you have a vaccine certificate:

Austria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland,  Germany,  Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Italy, France, Slovakia, Switzerland, Greece, Croatia, Spain, Poland, Belgium, Bulgarian, the Netherlands, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Korea, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, China, the Vatican, Israel, Singapore,  Slovenia and Japan.

There is also a list of states and territories in the US from which visitors are allowed to enter Malta, which are limited to:   Washington, Oregon,Louisiana, West Virginia, North Dakota, Georgia,Texas, Pennsylvania, North Carolina, Tennessee,Iowa, Nebraska, Ohio, South Carolina, New Mexico, Florida, Virginia, Maine, South Dakota,Michigan, Illinois, Delaware, Wisconsin, Puerto Rico, Hawaii, New Jersey, Minnesota,Connecticut, Alaska, New Hampshire, Maryland,New York, Rhode Island, District of Columbia,Massachusetts, Vermont, California, Idaho,Kentucky, American Samoa, Federated States of Micronesia, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Republic of Marshall Islands, Arkansas, Missouri, Oklahoma, Mississippi, Virgin Islands, Nevada, Arizona, Wyoming, Utah, Alabama, Colorado, Guam, Indiana, Montana and Kansas.

Other countries which do not require obligatory quarantine once visitors have the vaccine certificate are: Gibraltar, Portugal, Romania, Lebanon, United Arab Emirates, Turkey, Jordan, Liechtenstein, Sweden, Belarus, Belize, Bosnia Herzegovina, Bhutan, Fiji, Jamaica, Georgia, Faroe Islands, Kosovo, Kazakistan, Northern Macedonia, Montenegro, Moldova, Vietnam, Egypt, Iran, Libya, Panama, Qatar, Cuba, Serbia, Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Saudi Arabia, the UK, and the Ukraine.

Those Maltese residents who were expected to return to Malta before the legal notice came into effect from any country mentioned do not have to quarantine if they do not have the vaccine certificate. However, they need to have a negative PCR test which has to be taken not more than 72 hours before their arrival ini Malta.

Maltese residents who are currently in countries not listed above can return if they have a vaccine certificate. Children under 5 do not need to quarantine on their arrival in Malta even if they do not have a negative PCR test.