Current Affairs
Who goes through tonight to the Eurovision 2018 final?

The first semi-final of the Eurovision 2018 Song Contest takes place tonight in Portugal. Malta will not be among the 19 songs being interpreted tonight, as Christabelle is to sing in the second semi-final on Thursday.

The countries taking part tonight are Azerbaijan, Iceland, Albania, Belgium, Czech Republic, Lithuania, Israel, Belarus, Estonia, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Croatia, Austria, Greece, Finland, Armenia, Switzerland, Ireland and Cyprus.

The first dress rehearsal was held yesterday and was open to journalists, as was the second dress rehearsal, during which the judging panel were able to examine and sift through the three-minute presentations by each participating country.

Ten out of tonight’s nineteen participants will be chosen for the finals. Tonight, However, although the session will be transmitted live on TVM and, Maltese viewers cannot vote as Christabelle is not taking part in tonight’s semi-final.

Another ten finalists will be chosen during the second semi-final on Thursday. These 20 finalists, together with the five top countries and Portugal – this year’s Eurovision host – will take part in the final session on Saturday.

The three sessions, which all start at 9.00 p.m., will be transmitted from Altice Arena in Lisbon, and arfe being presented by Filomena Cautela, Silvia Alberto, Daniela Ruah and Catarina Furtado.

The following are excerpts from the songs taking part in tonight’s semi-final: