International Football
MFA to host Group B4 mini tournament of UEFA European Women’s Under 19 Championship next week

The Malta FA is hosting Group B4 mini tournament of the UEFA European Women’s Under 19 Championship.  The tournament will be played at the Centenary stadium between the 20th and 26th of October 2021.

This mini tournament is part of round 1 of the new UEFA Nations League-style championship.   The new format replaces the old qualifying and elite rounds, still featuring one-venue mini-tournaments but now including two leagues with promotion and relegation leading to the 2022 finals in the Czech Republic (who will compete in the two rounds before automatically progressing to the final tournament). The competition returns after the 2019/20 and 2020/21 editions were halted due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Under-19 coach Frank Schembri has named a 20 player squad for this upcoming tournament, which are:


Justyne Caruana (Raiders FC), Giulia D’Antuono (Raiders FC)


Tammy Falzon (Swieqi United), Izabella Camilleri (Birkirkara FC), Mariah Cardona (Birkirkara FC), Rhea Borg (San Gwann FC), Alexandra Gatt (no club), Martina Fenech (Birkirkara FC)


Ileana Farrugia (Birkirkara FC), Sarah Vella Barberi (Raiders FC), Yulya Carella (San Gwann FC), Elena Sissons (Swieqi Unitd), Martina Cortis (Birkirkara FC), Michaela Cachia (Swieqi United), Hannah Khatib (Swieqi United), Maya Lucia (Raiders FC), Veronique Mifsud (Birkirkara FC), Emma Ciantar Piccinino (Sunderland Foundation of Light)


Iulia Mifsud (Swieqi United), Kailey Willis (SSD Hellas Verona Women)

Besides Malta, the other teams in Group B4 hail from Israel, Romania, Georgia, ame schedule is as follows:

20.10.2021          Israel vs Malta                                KO 11:00hrs

Georgia vs Romania                       KO 16:00hrs


23.10.2021          Israel vs Georgia                            KO 11:00hrs

Romania vs Malta                          KO 16:00hrs


26.10.2021          Malta vs Georgia                           KO11:00hrs

Romania vs Israel                          KO 16:00hrs

Written by...
TVM Sport