20 Songs,19 Artists in Malta’s most popular song contest

Valletta, 19th January 2016

TV Caption standardThe #MaltaEurovision week kicked off yesterday with rehearsals in full swing at the Mediterranean Conference Centre.

The programme for the week

Technical rehearsals will take place on Monday and Tuesday.  Ten acts had their first rehearsal yesterday, while the rest of the acts will rehearse today. Each act will spend just over an hour and a half at the venue to set up and test the in-ear monitors and to carry out the technical rehearsals on stage to ensure the light, sound, graphics and the whole show is of optimum quality.  Afterwards, the artists proceed to the viewing room to see how their act looks on TV and to suggest changes and improvements.  During this time, the artists will also select a short part of their song to be used for the recap when the televoting lines are open.

Rehearsals continue on Wednesday throughout the day for all the twenty acts.

Rehearsals of the opening and interval acts will take place on Thursday morning.  These will be followed by a full dress rehearsal at 18.00.  A run through of the semi-final will take place on Friday morning at 10.00 and the live performance will kick off at 20:45

Fourteen acts will make it to the final.  The winners will be revealed in random order at the end of the night, but the rankings will be revealed after the grand final.  A running order for the final show will be published late at night.

The final run through will take place on Saturday morning at 10:00 and the live performance of the national final will start at 20:45.  You can watch the semi-final and the final live on TVM.  Live streaming will also be available at

Meanwhile, here is the running order for the semi-final which will be held on Friday evening.

  1. Ira Losco – Chameleon (Invincible)
  2. Corazón – Falling Glass
  3. Stefan Galea – Light Up My Life
  4. Domenique – Empty Hearted
  5. Dario – I Love You
  6. Daniel Testa – Under the Sun
  7. Jessika – The Flame
  8. Jasmine – Alive
  9. Raquel – Flashing Lights
  10. Brooke – Golden
  11. Kim – Lighthouse
  12. Sarah Crystal – Right Here With You
  13. Danica – Frontline
  14. Christabelle – Kingdom
  15. Franklin – Little Love
  16. Dominic – Fire Burn
  17. Ira Losco – That’s Why I Love You
  18. Laurence Gray – You’re Beautiful
  19. Maxine – Young Love
  20. Deborah C – All Around the World

Listen to all the entries here

The national final will select the artist that will represent Malta in May on the big stage in Stockholm.

The #MaltaEurovision final will be followed by an after party at Aria Complex in San Gwann.

Report: Daniel d’Anastasi