Ira Losco wins the 2016 Malta Eurovision Song Contest

Ira Losco wins the 2016 Malta Eurovision Song Contest with the song Chameleon (Invincible), authors and composers, Ira Losco and Talkback.  Ira received 4 maximum votes from the 3 members of the expert Jury and  the maximum points from the televoting securing a total of 68 points.

Ira will represent Malta in the forthcoming edition of the Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm in May.  This will be the second time that Ira will represent Malta in the Eurovision Song Contest after she had won the local competition in 2002 and eventually represented Malta in Tallinn and placed a prestigious second with her song Seventh Wonder. She has recently released her 10th album. Find out more about Ira by visiting her website.

Brooke secured the second place with the song Golden, written and composed by Brooke Borg, Sara Biglert, Christian Schneider & Aidan O’Connor.  Brooke received 58 points.  Franklin received 44 points and came third with the song Little Love penned by Matthew Muxu Mercieca and composed by Cyprian Cassar.

The 5 jury of the show were Mr Nick Clark-Lowes, Ms Viara Ankova, Mr Sabrija Vulic, Mr Luke Fisher and Mr Quinton Scerri (Head of Jury).  Televoting counted as the 6th Jury member.

The show also featured performances from the winner of the 2015 Junior Eurovision Song Contest Destiny Chukunyere and an interval act with brand new songs from last year’s winner Amber.

Meanwhile, the draw for the allocation of the semi-finals will take place on Monday 25th January 2016 at 11.15am CET in Stockholm’s City Hall.  The draw will be streamed live at

Ira Losco
Ira Losco

Report: Daniel d’Anastasi, Malta Eurovision Head of Press

Photo credits: Reno Rapa