B2 declared overall winner at Rolex Middle Sea Race

Italian skipper Francesco de Angelis’ B2  is the overall winner at the 34th edition of the Rolex Middle Sea Race.

B2 crossed the finish line at Marsamxett Harbour early yesterday afternoon, completing the race in just over three days. But despite the fastest corrected time  at the time of arrival, with the bulk of the fleet still racing, the overall win for B2 could not be confirmed.

It is a second success for de De Angelis, who skippered Atalanta II to both Line Honours and overall victory in 2007. He did not stay for the formal announcement this afternoon.

Earlier yesterday, German maxi Morning Glory claimed line honours, arriving at just after 4am.


The 18-strong crew under German skipper Kristina Plattner took 64 hours, 12 minutes to complete the 606-nautical-mile course from Grand Harbour, round Sicily, Pantelleria, and Lampedusa, and back to Malta; for an average speed of 9.5 knots.

For Kristina, it is also the second taste of success at the Rolex Middle Sea Race: Morning Glory was overall winner in 2006, when she admitted however she was practically just an onlooker under then skipper, her father, Hassno Plattner.

morning glory

The overall winner is not necessarily the first yacht across the finish line; but is determined by a handicap system which takes into account factors such as size and a yacht’s top speed.

Miktub minn...
Peter Cossai
Kap ta' TVM Sport. Isegwi l-Isport lokali u internazzjonali. Isegwi u jirraporta l-football lokali u internazzjonali. Jippreżenta l-programm 90 Minuta.